Kenya : President signs three Bills into law

President Uhuru Kenyatta signs three Bills into law. Photo: Kmaupdates

NEWSROOM (ADV) – Kenya’s President Uhuru Kenyatta on 12 March, 2019 signed three Bills thereby operationalizing them into law.

The three Bills include: The Urban Areas and Cities (Amendment) Bill 2017, The Petroleum Bill 2017 and the Energy Bill 2017.

While assenting into law the Urban Areas and Cities Amendment Bill, President Kenyatta commended the Senate for acting with speed in passing laws, which are intended to accelerate the efficient and quality service delivery.

The new law would enable County Governments to review the criteria provided for classifying an area as a city, municipality, town or market centre.

Under the new law, the number of the resident population required for a city has been reduced by half from 500,000 to 250,000 people.

The new energy law among other things proposes the establishment of three key national energy entities to manage and regulate energy resources in the country

The law establishes the Energy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority, the Rural Electrification and Renewable Energy Corporation and the Nuclear Power and Energy Agency.

The 2017 Petroleum Bill that was assented into law by the President will among other things provide a framework for contracting, exploring, developing and producing petroleum.

© Bur-csa – A.H / S.E – African Daily Voice (ADV) – Follow us on Twitter : @ADVinfo_eng