Zimbabwean president appoints 20-member Cabinet

Mnangagwa said, the new Cabinet should be development oriented and help take the nation to middle income status soon. Photo : RR

Casablanca, Morocco (ADV) – President Emmerson Mnangagwa on Friday appointed a 20-member cabinet team that is expected to steer Zimbabwe’s development programme over the next five years.In a statement read by Chief Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Misheck Sibanda, at State House in Harare, Mnangagwa named former African Development Bank chief economist Mthuli Ncube as finance minister and elevated Environment Minister Oppah Muchinguri to the position of Defence Minister.

Retired army officer Sibusiso Moyo retained his position as Minister of Foreign Affairs, together with July Moyo (Local Government), Amon Murwira (Higher Education), Paul Mavima (Primary and Secondary Education), Perrance Shiri (Lands and Agriculture), and Winston Chitando (Mines).

Newcomers to the cabinet were Olympics swimming champion Kirsty Coventry who was appointed Minister of Sports, newspaper columnist and cultural critic Sekesai Nzenza who landed the position of Minister of Public Service, medical doctor Obadiah Moyo (Health) and Mangaliso Ndlovu (Industry).

The powerful home affairs portfolio was given to Cain Mathema who until the latest appointment the Minister of Welfare Services for War Veterans, War Collaborators and Former Political Detainees.

Several former ministers were dropped from cabinet. These include ex-finance minister Patrick Chinamasa, former energy minister Simon Khaya Moyo, Supa Mandiwanzira (Information and Communication Technology), Mike Bimha (Industry) and David Parirenyatwa (Health).

© Bur-csa – N.A – African Daily Voice (ADV)